Finalists in the first national awards to celebrate the unsung heroes of critical control rooms announced

1st Feb 2018

Nominations for the nine award categories came from more than 40 organisations the length and breadth of the UK, ranging from Police Scotland to North West Ambulance Service and Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service.

Shortlisted entries recognised the extraordinary, behind-the-scenes contribution of control room staff in serving society, keeping the public safe and secure, and responding to the most difficult and harrowing situations and emergency incidents.

The company behind the awards is APD Communications, which develops critical, life-saving software used by the police and other emergency services organisations across the country, as well as transport and aviation operators nationally and internationally.

Leading tech company telent Technology Services is the Platinum Partner of the awards, with pioneering technology companies Sopra Steria and Seed Software as Bronze Sponsors. British APCO and International Critical Control Rooms Alliance (ICCRA) are backing the awards, while critical communications data capture, storage and analysis specialist Red Box Recorders is sponsoring the Team of the Year award.

APD Managing Director Mike Isherwood said: “As these are the inaugural Control Room Awards, we didn’t quite know what to expect and we have been absolutely bowled over by the tremendous response. We want to thank every individual and organisation that has submitted nominations.

“The entries have been truly extraordinary – I don’t mind saying I shed a few tears when reading quite a few of them. Selecting the finalists has been a challenging and humbling experience.

“We expected to receive nominations for control room personnel from their colleagues, but it has been great to also see so many emergency services organisations embracing the awards and wanting to celebrate their staff. It shows just how much they appreciate their remarkable work.”

Barry Zielinski, telent’s General Manager, Public Safety & Defence, said: “telent is truly honoured to be the Platinum Partner of these prestigious awards.

“It has been a privilege to review all the nominations and, as we suspected, it has proven to be a very difficult process to select the shortlists from so many amazing entries.

“We’re looking forward to the awards evening when the skill, dedication and resilience of control room staff across the UK will be recognised and celebrated.”

The Control Room Awards judges are:

  • Mike Isherwood, Managing Director, APD Communications.
  • Chris Dreyfus-Gibson, Vice Chairman, International Critical Control Rooms Alliance (ICCRA).
  • Sue Noyes, former Chief Ambulance Officer and Chair of The Ambulance Staff Charity (TASC).
  • Cheryl Rolph OBE, former Assistant Chief Fire Officer and Director of Networking Women in the Fire Service.  
  • Ian Thompson, Chief Executive of British APCO (Association of Public Safety Communications Officials).
  • Barry Zielinski, General Manager, Public Safety & Defence, telent.

The APD Control Rooms Awards finanlists can be seen at Control Room Awards.

< Back to News